top of page
  • The Metal Voice

Thor 'Alliance' Album Review by Milwaukee Tom For The Metal Voice

Thor has a new album with a release date of July 16th, 2021 via Cleopatra Records

There’s a lot here, with 17 Tracks on the album. 14 of them feature a special guest, mainly doing vocals. And even with these talented special guests, what stands out to me on this album is Thor’s Band. Lead Guitar: John Leibel, Rhythm Guitar: Matt Hamilton, Bass: Ted Jedlicki, Drums: Tom Croxton, and of course Thor on Lead Vocals. They all do a very good job performing, and this just might be Thor’s best album, musically. There’s even an instrumental Track on “Alliance.” If you liked Thor’s last album “Rising,” you’ll really like this one. Most of the Tracks are mid to up-tempo rockers, and the middle parts of the songs have some great lead guitar solos. Is Thor-at times a little tongue in cheek, maybe somewhat satirical? Yeah, but sometimes it’s a case of either it clicks with you or it doesn’t… either your open minded to his style, or your not. But this is a good effort by this band and worth picking up.

Special guests on the album:

John Gallagher (Raven)

Björn Strid (Soilwork)

Chris Holmes (Chris Holmes/Mean Men, Ex-W.A.S.P.)

Ross “The Boss” Friedman (Ross the Boss Band, Ex-Manowar)

Nina Osegueda (A Sound Of Thunder)

Fang VonWrathenstein (Lords Of The Trident)

Dan Cleary (Striker)

Neil Turbin (Anthrax)

Danko Jones

Frank Soda (The Imps)

Frank Meyer (The Streetwalkin’ Cheetahs) & Dennis Post (Warrior Soul)

Trevor William Church (Haunt)

Sean Peck (Death Dealer, Three Tremors, Cage)

Joey Killingsworth (Joecephus & The George Jonestown Massacre)

Martin Gummesson (Thundermaker)

Al Harlow (Prism)

Joey Roads & Sheldon Byer (Roadrash)

Alliance features stunning artwork from Timo Wuerz and will be available July 16 on both digital as well as on CD in a digipak and limited edition silver vinyl in a gatefold jacket! Watch for Thor to launch several shows and festivities in this year as he celebrates his 39th studio album and an astounding 50 years of metal mayhem as well as co-starring in a feature-length action movie “Pact Of Vengeance,” which will feature music from the new album!

Pre-order/pre-save the digital:

Track List:

1. We Need Musclerock feat. John Gallagher (Raven)

2. Niflhel (Realm Of The Dead) feat. Björn Strid (Soilwork)

3. The Ultimate Alliance feat. Chris Holmes (W.A.S.P.), Ross “The Boss” Friedman (Manowar), Nina Osegueda (A Sound Of Thunder) & Fang VonWrathenstein (Lords Of The Trident)

4. Ode To Odin feat. Dan Cleary (Striker)

5. We Will Fight Forever feat. Neil Turbin (Anthrax)

6. Because We Are Strong

7. Rock Around The World feat. Danko Jones

8. Queen Of The Spiders feat. Frank Soda (The Imps)

9. Power Hungry

10. Bounty Hunter feat. Frank Meyer (The Streetwalkin’ Cheetahs) & Dennis Post (Warrior Soul)

11. Battlements feat. Trevor William Church (Haunt)

12. Thor vs. The Juggernaut (War Of The Gods) feat. Sean Peck (Death Dealer)

13. Generation Now feat. Joey Killingsworth (Joecephus & The George Jonestown Massacre)

14. After The Laughter feat. Martin Gummesson (Thundermaker)

15. Good Stuff feat. Al Harlow (Prism)

16. Congregate feat. Joey Roads & Sheldon Byer (Roadrash)

17. We Will Fight Forever (Reprise)

Thor Interview Alliance w/ Chris Holmes, Ross The Boss, Sean Peck, Neil Turbin & Band

325 views0 comments


bottom of page