top of page
  • The Metal Voice

Saxon Releases New Video Single ‘There’s Something In Roswell’ Watch Here

Saxon releases another video single 'Something's in Roswell' taken off their up and coming new studio album HELL, FIRE AND DAMNATION

Watch here

Saxon USA Tour

Jimmy Kay and Alan Dixon recently interviewed Saxon singer Biff Byford. Byford talked about the bands up and coming album "Hell, Fire And Damnation" as well as the bands touring plans.

The two metal guys also give their take and review of the album

Hell, Fire And Damnation will be released on January 19, 2024 via Silver Lining Music

All Photos by Ned Wakeman

Watch here

When asked to give a headline summarizing the new upcoming albums

"This album is a monster ! "

When asked to describe the musical direction of the new album 'Hell, Fire And Damnation'

"We just wanted to write the perfect rock song that's the goal you know to write the perfect metal song and the perfect album. So that's always our goal. So we're always trying to write better songs and get better sounds. I think this album's probably the best sounding Saxon album ever high-fi wise. We're just getting closer to perfection every album."

When asked about the lyrical inspirations on the new album

"Just thinking of stories that are interesting really that pop into my crazy head. Just things that interest me and obviously interest millions of other people as well. History is interesting and it's forever and it's forever renewing itself."

When asked about one of the tracks THERE'S SOMETHING IN ROSWELL and if he enjoys a good conspiracy theory

"I like a good conspiracy theory, they're great because it gets you thinking and uh you look at all the facts and uh should to make up your own mind.

I'd like to think that there was something in Roswell, I'm more of a believer than a disbeliever but I'm not totally sold on it. In America they interviewed a lot of people on this and they did a survey and I think 95% of people thought there was something in Roswell, so that's where the song comes from. I mean Roswell's Ground Zero isn't it for UFO's, it um all sort of started in Roswell."

When asked if guitarist Paul Quinn participated on the new album

"Paul plays a couple of songs on the album and play solos on a few songs. We were making the album so fast and so inspired by making the album. We did it on the road in Europe on our Festival tour and Paul (Quinn) wasn't with us because he stopped touring. So Brian (Tatler) stood up in his place and uh you know he supplied a couple of great Rifts actually, so we're very lucky."

When asked about Paul Quinn's Health status

"Paul's health is it okay, he got a bit of rheumatism in his fingers when he plays a lot and he wanted to rest. I think he wanted a quiet life. Bein in a touring Rock Band is not really a quiet life."

When asked about if Saxon uses live tricks when performing

When we play live we don't use click tracks or anything. Everything you get is live. We might have a few noises on Nibb's (Carter) base pedals you know like sirens and Jet plans and things but just little effects but most what you get and what you hear is live."

Buy album here

Hell, Fire And Damnation is an album which sees Saxon investigate all areas of history and mystery amidst ten of their most confident and thunderously powerful songs yet. Biff delivers his richest vocals in years, Nigel Glockler and Nibbs Carter on drums and bass respectively lay down the rhythmic law with bombastic power, and the guitars of Doug Scarratt and Brian Tatler are fresh and fiery, a perfect complement to each other, carrying an overall energy and fury which will have fans salivating. Musically, Saxon bring it all to the table. There's a furious tribute to actual heavy metal in the denim & leather coated super-sprint “Fire And Steel”, a wonderful nod to the NWOBHM's birth in the electric mid-pace “Pirates Of The Airwaves”, but maybe the true treasure amidst the jewels is “There's Something In Roswell”, with the sort of expansive groove and embrace which deserves arenas.

Produced by Andy Sneap (Judas Priest, Exodus, Accept and Priest guitarist) and Biff Byford, with Sneap mixing and mastering, Hell, Fire And Damnation strides the perfect line between confident, current power, and gloriously irreverent flexing of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal muscle which Saxon co-created.

“I think this album’s one of the best he’s done sound-wise, and he’s done a lot of albums” Biff declares. “It has a really raw, vibrant sound...if you compress the total time making this album, it was four weeks tops…you can hear everything brilliantly, nothing’s overcomplicated, nothing’s over compressed. The guitar sounds are fucking immense, they’re just great, raw guitar sounds. And we haven’t done a lot of overdubbing on there, it’s just playing. I really, really like it.”

2024 promises to be a great year for Saxon, with the European tour alongside Judas Priest and Uriah Heep kicking-off in the UK in March, plus the arrival of the heavy metal masterpiece Hell, Fire And Damnation.

“Getting these shows in March 2024 with Judas Priest and Uriah Heep meant it made sense to push and get the album made faster,” says Biff, “so, we got on with it in haste and pulled it out of the bag. It was tricky, but I think it’s safe to say we managed it well.”

Oh, it’s safe to say alright!


11 March – OVO Hydro, Glasgow (UK)

13 March – First Direct Arena, Leeds (UK)

15 March – 3Arena, Dublin (IE)

17 March – BIC, Bournemouth (UK)

19 March – Resorts World Arena, Birmingham (UK)

21 March – OVO Arena Wembley, London (UK)

24 March – Festhalle, Frankfurt (DE)

25 March – Olympiahalle, München (DE)

26 March – Volksbank Messe, Balingen (DE)

27 March – Westfalenhalle, Dortmund (DE)

29 March – O2 Arena, Prague (CZ)

30 March – Tauron Arena, Kraków (PL)

1 April – Wiener Stadhalle, Vienna (AT)

2 April – Roxy, Ulm (DE)

3 April – St. Jakobshalle, Basel (CH)

5 April – Halle Tony Garnier, Lyon (FR)

6 April – Mediolanum Forum, Milan (IT)

8 April – Zénith, Paris (FR)

13 June – Sant Jordi Club, Barcelona (ES)

15 June – Navarra Arena, Pamplona (ES)

17 June – Palacio Vistalegre, Madrid (ES)

1 July – Barclays Arena, Hamburg (DE)

2 July – Max-Schmeling-Halle, Berlin (DE)

4 July – Arena Nürnberger, Nürnberg (DE)

8 July – Sap Arena, Mannheim (DE)

10 July – Messehalle, Dresden (DE)

More dates to be announced

For tickets and more information visit:

Hell, Fire And Damnation will be available in a variety of formats

Hell, Fire And Damnation Track Listing:

1. The Prophecy

2. Hell, Fire And Damnation

3. Madame Guillotine

4. Fire And Steel

5. There’s Something In Roswell

6. Kubla Khan And The Merchant Of Venice

7. Pirates Of The Airwaves

8. 1066

9. Witches Of Salem

10. Super Charger







Produced by Andy Sneap and Biff Byford

Album mixed and mastered by Andy Sneap

Vocals recorded by Seb Byford at Big Silver Barn, York (UK); Drums recorded by Jacky Lehmann at Lampes Posthotel Old Cinema Restaurant Der Krug (Germany); Guitars recorded at Big Silver Barn, York (UK).

Follow Saxon on:

Guitarist Alex Skolnick ( Metal Allegiance, Testament) Interview- The Metal Voice

Top 10 Best Metal / Hard Rock Frontmen? w/ Sword's Rick Hughes-The Metal Voice

Dee Snider Interview-Graphic Novel 'He's Not Gonna Take It' - PMRC Hearings -Twisted Sister Reunion?

207 views0 comments


bottom of page