top of page
  • The Metal Voice

Primal Fear's Ralf Scheepers-Helloween Was Interested In Me As A Singer but I Was Too Young

Jimmy Kay from The Metal Voice speaks to lead singer of primal Fear Ralf Scheepers about the bands re-release of their debut Album plus Gammy Ray, how Helloween wanted him to replace Kai Hansen as singer and his memories on the Halford Tour.

Watch here now

Excerpts from the interview

Ralf Scheepers was asked if Helloween every approached him to sing with the band and he said, "I heard they were looking for me (when Kai Hansen wanted to step back as singer ) but I was still in my band and as a young kid 16-17 years old starting with music. Being with my family starting with my daily job I was not mature enough to decide those things to move to Hamburg and start as a musician. They never really asked me, I just heard they were interested. Kai was the singer back then with the 'Walls Of Jericho' and they were looking for a singer because Kai was the guitarist and wanted to concentrate on one instrument. I heard they were interested in me but that came later( meaning he found out years later."

PRIMAL FEAR will release a deluxe version of their highly-praised self-titled debut album from 1998 -- remastered by Jacob Hansen at Hansen Studios, Denmark and including three bonus tracks as well as an extended booklet featuring liner notes and many photos from the band archives -- on July 15th, 2022 via Atomic Fire.

»Primal Fear« (Deluxe Edition; Remastered) - Track Listing:

01. Primal Fear

02. Chainbreaker

03. Silver & Gold

04. Promised Land

05. Formula One

06. Dollars

07. Nine Lives

08. Tears Of Rage

09. Speedking

10. Battalions Of Hate

11. Running In The Dust

12. Thunderdome

Bonus Tracks

13. Breaker (ACCEPT Cover)

14. Chainbreaker (live)

15. Running In The Dust (live)

The album that contains guest appearances by Kai Hansen (guitars; HELLOWEEN, GAMMY RAY etc.) and Frank Rössler (additional keyboards) was originally recorded at House Of Music Studios, produced by founding member Mat Sinner, supported by Tom Naumann and Ralf Scheepers, and engineered by Achim Köhler. The iconic artwork was designed by Stephan Lohrmann who also cooperated with PRIMAL FEAR for their latest studio album and other parts of their back catalogue.

Dream Theater James LaBrie Interview- New Solo Album 'Beautiful Shade of Grey'-Solo Tour May 2023

251 views0 comments


bottom of page