top of page
  • The Metal Voice

New Thor Video Premiere 'Good Stuff' Ft. Prism Members, Watch Here

Canada's Metal Avenger Thor releases his new video 'Good Stuff' featuring former Prism Darryl Hebert for keys and Al Harlow members.

THOR announces a new release from the highly acclaimed "Alliance". The new video/single "GOOD STUFF" will be launched on all Thor-Korr platforms Thursday, January 20th, 2022.

Video produced and edited by Lisa Freakrock

Watch here.

Good Stuff Liner Notes

In late 2020 when things where so uncertain that I didn't even know if the song would come out, I starting working on "Good Stuff" for Jon Mikl Thor.

Jon had introduced me to someone who has become a close, cherished friend, Eric Jackson Lurie. Eric has been boxer and a pro tennis player, but now is a successful lawyer and radio show host in Pittsburgh.PA. He loves his wife and family in such a deep devoted way.

A few years ago Eric enlisted well known musician Joe Brucato to co-write and record a song for his lovely wife Camille's Birthday. It is full of love and desire and is one of the most romantic things I have ever heard. He reached out to Thor as he and his wife are both huge fans and asked if he would consider recording a new version for Camille's 2021 Birthday.

I received the original version and got to work. I changed the key, and created more contrast to the parts. Jon and I altered the melody a bit and developed a bridge. Our drummer Richard Fabio recorded drums in his New Jersey studio, I played bass and Jon worked through the tune until it had a unique Thor stamp on it. I reached out to Darryl Hebert for keys and Al Harlow of Prism for stonesy guitars. Al put a slide bit in the solo that I had to make a feature and it now graces the verses. His bluesy playing really gave the song some attitude! The lovely Melanie Paul, whom I have known since I was 18, dropped in to do backup vocals and the blend of female backups with Jon's lead really clicked.

On a bittersweet note, I had grown to be very moved by the heartfelt lead guitar playing I had witnessed at various shows from Vancouver guitarist Bob Voytcheff. Although he wasn't widely known, he possessed a soul to his playing that I rarely hear and I had it mind to record with him. I reached out and he agreed to doing a session. It turned out as amazing as I knew it would and his fluid, gutsy lead playing is featured on this song. It is bittersweet as Bob died of Covid in Bulgaria sometime in September 2021. We had many chats after the session as Bob was so pleased how it turned out and was eager to do more. I in turn had purchased a better studio guitar amp for him and was looking forward to his return to Canada.

Jon and I were in constant communication as I proceeded to mix the song and together we got to the point that we were ready to go to mastering. Achim Koehler, our new go to guy in Germany ( big thanks to Thor's Ted Jedlicki for finding him! ) did that flawlessly.

Many hours of work went into this and it was a welcome refuge with the isolation and sadness in the world at that moment. It was surreal at times and I really didn't know what would happen but it was a labor of love for the great men Jon Mikl Thor and Eric Jackson Lurie. I am blessed and I hope you enjoy this song of love and devotion as we head towards Valentine's Day.

"Good Stuff", can be found on the new the Cleopatra/Deadline Thor album Alliance and on all of your favorite downloading and streaming sites.

The album, Alliance, includes special guest appearances from Soilwork vocalist Björn “Speed” Strid, W.A.S.P.'s Chris Holmes, Raven vocalist John Gallagher, Danko Jones, Anthrax's Neil Turbin, Ross “The Boss” Friedman and many more. It features stunning artwork from Timo Wuerz and is available on both digital as well as on CD in a digipak and limited-edition silver vinyl in a gatefold jacket.


“We Need Musclerock” feat. John Gallagher (Raven) “Niflhel (Realm Of The Dead)” feat. Björn Strid (Soilwork) “The Ultimate Alliance” feat. Chris Holmes (W.A.S.P.), Ross “The Boss” Friedman (Manowar), Nina Osegueda (A Sound Of Thunder) & Fang VonWrathenstein (Lords Of The Trident) “Ode To Odin” feat. Dan Cleary (Striker) “We Will Fight Forever” feat. Neil Turbin (Anthrax) “Because We Are Strong” “Rock Around The World” feat. Danko Jones “Queen Of The Spiders” feat. Frank Soda (The Imps) “Power Hungry” “Bounty Hunter” feat. Frank Meyer (The Streetwalkin’ Cheetahs) & Dennis Post (Warrior Soul) “Battlements” feat. Trevor William Church (Haunt) “Thor vs. The Juggernaut (War Of The Gods)” feat. Sean Peck (Death Dealer) “Generation Now” feat. Joey Killingsworth (Joecephus & The George Jonestown Massacre) “After The Laughter” feat. Martin Gummesson (Thundermaker) “Good Stuff” feat. Al Harlow (Prism) “Congregate” feat. Joey Roads & Sheldon Byer (Roadrash) “We Will Fight Forever” (Reprise)

“Because We Are Strong” video:

Unleash The Archers Brittney Slayes Interview-Tour & Abyss Album

349 views0 comments


bottom of page