top of page
  • The Metal Voice

Annihilator New Re-Image Van Halen Cover 'Romeo Delight' Ft. Singer Stu Block & Dave Lombardo, Watch

Watch below Annihilator's re-imaged Van Halen cover of ROMEO DELIGHT featuring former Iced Earth singer Stu Block and former Slayer Drummer Dave Lombardo.

Watch here

earMUSIC proudly announces a new single from Annihilator’s upcoming "METAL II" album to be released on January 14 on all digital platforms: ROMEO DELIGHT (a Van Halen Cover). "METAL II" (out February 18) is the Kick-Off to this long-termed campaign which will unveil special configurations, additional bonus material + exclusive and previously unheard new tunes from the band.

Jeff Waters about ROMEO DELIGHT: "There was something about "Women And Children First". It was massively-brutal attitude meeting aggression, meets a DLR-fronted party. You have to remember when this came out. ‘Romeo Delight’ is the most "heavy" song from VH, in my (and Kerry King's!) opinion. The photos on the cover/back cover of "WACF" were impactful. It was a green cover and it was a photo of the band posing for a record cover shot and instead of blowing that photo up to the full size of the LP, they cropped it so it was a third the size of the record and everything around it was green. I would stare at the front and back pics for hours! Eddie was like a 2nd father, in a way. Millions probably feel that way too and only fans of his from back then could understand this. His playing, writing, performance and smile were second to none. EVER. He was a superb writer, lead guitar innovator, genius rhythm player and was able to build a gear empire. He took chances. Did his own thing. It worked. Millions and more will mourn him, as long as the future world likes music. But we also will be celebrating forever, as musicians will continue to hand down the "EVH-Influenced-Musical-Genes" to future generations!"

Watch the first video of the Annihilator re-imaged song 'Downright Dominate' featuring former Iced Earth singer Stu Block and former Slayer Drummer Dave Lombardo

Watch Lyric Video here

EarMusic has announced a remarkable reissue series of (almost) the entire Annihilator catalogue. Metal II kicks off this extensive catalogue campaign that will give you special editions, bonus material, exclusive and previously unreleased tunes.

"Metal II" has been given an incredible overhaul with the one and only Dave Lombardo (SLAYER) killing the drums and lead vocals "re-invented" by the great Stu Block (INTO ETERNITY, ICED EARTH). The guest list on the album is huge: Willie Adler (LAMB OF GOD), Alexi Laiho (CHILDREN OF BODOM), Steve "Lips" Kudlow (ANVIL), Dan Beehler (EXCITER), Jesper Strömblad (IN FLAMES), Angela Gossow (ARCH ENEMY), Jeff Loomis (ARCH ENEMY, NEVERMORE), Anders Björler (THE HAUNTED, AT THE GATES) and Corey Beaulieu (TRIVIUM).

Waters passed over mixing duties to legendary engineer Mike Fraser (AC/DC, VAN HALEN) and it was remastered by Maor Appelbaum.

"Dave was in my favorite band ever (SLAYER)," Waters says, "and continues to evolve and play in many diverse bands, like MISFITS, SUICIDAL TENDENCIES, DEAD CROSS, MR. BUNGLE and many other projects. It was an honor to be on the same record as Lombardo. And he uses the 'Reign In Blood' ride cymbal!! Yes! The ACTUAL ride cymbal we hear on that classic record."

Waters reveals that "Stu has been the vocalist that I have (publicly) wanted to be ANNIHILATOR's singer, ever since I heard him in the Canadian band INTO ETERNITY, but I never got the opportunity to get him! He is the next generation of amazing vocalists that is grabbing the microphone from such icons as [Bruce] Dickinson and [Rob] Halford. And our paths SHOULD have crossed a long time ago, but we are here now!

"So I got a hold of them both," Waters continues, "and they both loved the tunes and both said 'FUCK YES'! And I said to Stu, 'You've got three takes', so there's blemishes and warts and fuck-ups everywhere. And I said the same to Dave, 'get it done'. And watching pros do this is mind-blowing because you don't have the best sounds, but you have the best players."

"Metal II" is dedicated to the memory of Eddie Van Halen and Laiho.

01. Chasing The High (ft. Willie Adler)

02. Downright Dominate (ft. Alexi Laiho)

03. Army Of One (ft. Steve "Lips" Kudlow)

04. Couple Suicide (ft. Danko Jones and Angela Gossow)

05. Heavy Metal Maniac (ft. Dan Beehler and Allan Johnson)

06. Haunted (ft. Jesper Strömblad)

07. Romeo Delight

08. Detonation (ft. Jacob Lynam)

09. Clown Parade (ft. Jeff Loomis)

10. Smothered (ft. Anders Björler)

11. Kicked (ft. Corey Beaulieu)

Unleash The Archers Brittney Slayes Interview-Tour & Abyss Album

Mr. Big Eric Martin Interview-Talks Avantasia New Album, Geoff Tate Tour, Mr. Big & Pat Torpey

155 views0 comments


bottom of page