Graham Bonnet Gets Anthologized- The Metal Voice

May 1, 2017

Graham Bonnet’s “Anthology” is the first all encompassing, career spanning career retrospective from this highly respected singer and song writer, from his first hits of the late 1960s, right up to the Graham Bonnet Band in 2017 on (Cherry Red Records)


Pick up a copy HERE


Graham Bonnet’s “Anthology” is the first all encompassing, career spanning career retrospective from this highly respected singer and song writer, from his first hits of the late 1960s, right up to the Graham Bonnet Band in 2017.


• Few frontmen can claim to have had such a lengthy and far-reaching career, first finding fame as part of The Marbles duo, who enjoyed a hit with the Bee Gees’ ‘Only One Woman’ in 1968, followed by a solo career across the 1970s, again enjoying further success with the Bee Gees on the disco flavoured ‘Warm Ride’.


• He achieved what was possibly his greatest success when he replaced Ronnie James Dio in 1979 for “Down To Earth” in Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow. Worldwide hits followed with the single ‘All Night Long’ and Russ Ballard’s ‘Since You Been Gone’, represented here with the latter single’s non-album B-Side, ‘Bad Girl’.


• Solo success beckoned with the song ‘Night Games’, plus Russ Ballard’s ‘S.O.S.’, from the “Line-Up” album in 1981, backed-up by a stellar line-up that included Cozy Powell and Jon Lord, as well as guest appearances from Status Quo’s Rossi and Parfitt.


• Graham briefly joined The Michael Schenker Group for 1982’s “Assault Attack”, represented here with the non-album B-Side ‘Girl From Uptown’.


• Recognizing that his greatest success to date was with the melodic hard rock of Rainbow, Graham formed Alcatrazz in a similar mould, with a then little known Swedish guitarist called Yngwie J. Malmsteen, and the “No Parole From Rock ‘N’ Roll” LP, producing ‘Island In The Sun’, and ‘Hiroshima Mon Amour’. Sadly, this line-up only lasted one studio and one live in Japan album, where Alcatrazz had quickly built a huge following, and from where ‘Since You Been Gone’ is taken. Graham evidently had a knack for finding highly influential guitar talent, recording second Alcatrazz opus with Steve Vai and the “Disturbing The Peace” album, featuring ‘God Blessed Video’, the anti-drink-driving song ‘Will You Be Home Tonight’ and ‘Skyfire’. A third and final Alcatrazz record produced ‘Blue Boar’ from “Dangerous Games” before the singer hooked up with Chris Impellitteri and the band Impellitteri (‘Stand In Line’ & ‘Tonight I Fly’).


• Graham has subsequently recorded with Forcefield (‘Hit And Run’ & ‘Let The Wild Run Free’), Japan’s Anthem, the Taz Taylor Band and the super group Blackthorne that he formed with guitarist Bob Kulick in 1993, represented here by ‘Afterlife’, ‘We Won’t Be Forgotten’ and ‘Don’t Kill The Thrill’. Over the years, Graham has also found time to reunite with Impellitteri, and more recently for successful shows with Alcatrazz and The Michael Schenker Group.


• Now fronting the Graham Bonnet Band, represented here by an unreleased version of the Rainbow hit ‘All Night Long’, plus new songs ‘My Kingdom Come’ and ‘Mirror Lies’, this “Anthology” is completed by a DVD of many rare video clips taken from across Graham’s career, and includes some track-by-track intros from Graham, filmed especially for this collection.


CD 1:

1. Only One Woman
2. It’s All Over Now Baby Blue
3. Warm Ride
4. Bad Girl – RAINBOW
5. Night Games
6. S.O.S.
8. Island In The Sun – ALCATRAZZ
9. Hiroshima Mon Amour – ALCATRAZZ
10. Since You Been Gone (live) – ALCATRAZZ
11. God Blessed Video – ALCATRAZZ
12. Will You Be Home Tonight – ALCATRAZZ
13. Skyfire – ALCATRAZZ
14. Blue Boar – ALCATRAZZ
15. Stand In Line – IMPELLITTERI
16. Tonight I Fly – IMPELLITTERI
17. Midnight Crossing (1989 demo) *
18. Hit And Run – FORCEFIELD
19. Let The Wild Run Free – FORCEFIELD
20. All Night Long (2015 version) – GRAHAM BONNET BAND *


CD 2:

1. Look Don’t Touch
2. Afterlife – BLACKTHORNE
3. We Won’t Be Forgotten – BLACKTHORNE
4. Don’t Kill The Thrill – BLACKTHORNE
5. Breakaway
6. Killer
7. Hunting Time – ANTHEM
8. Hungry Soul – ANTHEM
9. Love In Vain – ANTHEM
10. Perfect Crime – IMPELLITTERI
11. Fighters Fist – TAZ TAYLOR BAND
12. Radio Luxembourg – TAZ TAYLOR BAND
13. You Are Your Money (demo) – ELEKTRIC ZOO *
14. Lost In Hollywood
15. My Kingdom Come – GRAHAM BONNET BAND
16. Mirror Lies – GRAHAM BONNET BAND



1. It’s All Over Now Baby Blue
2. Danny
3. Only You Can Lift Me
4. Warm Ride
5. Can’t Complain
6. I’m A Lover
7. The Way That It Is
8. Anthony Boy
9. Night Games
10. Island In The Sun – ALCATRAZZ
11. Hiroshima Mon Amour – ALCATRAZZ
12. God Blessed Video – ALCATRAZZ
13. Stand In Line – IMPELLITTERI
14. Stand In Line (alt. version) – IMPELLITTERI
15. The Mirror Lies – GRAHAM BONNET BAND
16. Stand In Line – IMPELLITTERI
17. Tonight I Fly – IMPELLITTERI
18. Leviathan – IMPELLITTERI
19. All Night Long – IMPELLITTERI
20. Secret Lover – IMPELLITTERI
21. Somewhere Over The Rainbow – IMPELLITTERI
22. Goodnight And Goodbye – IMPELLITTERI
23. Since You Been Gone – IMPELLITTERI

















Please reload

Support The Show
Buy a Metal Voice Shirt 

low res_edited.jpg
Recent Posts 
Please reload

Find US On
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
Our Fave Metal Blogs

© 2019 The Metal Voice